About to buy 2 Lipos? Is it false economy?

Hi

About to spend £350 on 2 x 20000 mah 6S Hobbyking Lipos? Is it false economy? Could I build a li ion pack for £350?

In a perfect world I would buy Cells from Fogstar and build my own But…

• I have no idea what I am doing
  • Don’t know how many cells I would need
  • Don’t own or know how to use a spot welder
  • Don’t have a 3D printer

So based on all this, lipos is probably my best option

1 Like

The cheap hobbyking lipo’s generally have a low C rating. I use 4 X 15C 12000mah in a 2 series, 2 parallel configuration and they get a little warm and are becoming puffy after only 1 year.
I am currently building a 18650 pack. I have never done this before, but there is so much info and help here and on YouTube.
It’s well worth considering instead of lipo’s.

However, I do also use 2 16000mah Tattu lipo’s which have performed much better than the hobbyking turnigy brand. But still get a little warm.

2 Likes

Thanks, how many cells would I need?

I’m building 2 x 6s 15p packs, which is 180 Samsung 25R cells. Thís will give me a 37500mah pack.

I agree with Roger, and did infact that. Never build such a pack before (and no foil either :wink: ) but the difference is remarkable. No puffing, no hot batteries. I am very happy with them after using them a couple of hours so far. I did 2x 6s-14p using samsung 30Q batteries and bought a spot welder for this purpose .

1 Like

Thanks guys, whats the typical cost/spend on such a pack?

Once you factored in the price of welder too, ±£500

1 Like

I still use the same 20A 6s packs from Hobbyking, and mostly 4x 16A 6s of the same brand. Both work and keep going, but never drain them below 3.7V if you want to use them for more than few times!