Will the mast hold up?

Please tell me your opinion! I am not here to show off, I want feedback. : )

So I am planning on mounting the mast to the two aluminium profiles with 4xM8 screws that go through the profile. I am not using the slots for anything. The Profiles will be wraped in fibre glass and get epoxied into the channels at the bottom, followed by 1 layer of 6oz or 200g/m2 fibreglass around the entire board. The bolts are added from the deck side and will get large washers so they don´t dig into the Aluminium/Fibreglass. Do you recon that is a good idea? I hope the aluminium would destribute the load a little bit. However, the two profiles are not strong enough to support my weight on their own. They bend. I could add a few carbon fibre golf club shafts to the board.

I am not that experienced with large fibreglass structures. I only did repairs in the past, so it is hard to judge if this is enough or not.

The board is 156x52x12cm and made from CNC cut XPS. The mast has 3 positions and is drawn to scale.

1 Like

Hi Max. I would use at least two layers of 6oz glass on the top. With just one layer you will likely get pressure dents in the deck of the board from knees, heels etc. Also XPS foam has a tendency to delaminate from the resin and fibreglass layer. From what I have read it is recommended to sand the surface with a low grit sandpaper 20/40 grit to make heaps of scratches so the resin can penetrate the foam better. I don’t think you will need the carbon fibre golf shafts. I would add an extra patch of glass each side where the foil is going to go as well. Cheers