Week 1.. a beginners perspective

Saw one of the efoil vids on the weekend and fell in love.

Like many others in here I suspect that building one will be stretching my abilities but I’m keen. My problem is that I’m an accountant with little 3D design & manufacture background. And I’m based in Australia so that should test international shipping.

But I’m good with my hands, have a rudimentary understanding of electronics and I’m a quick learner so regardless I’m going to give it a go.

I’ve fired up a heap of things this week & thanks to the efforts of people like pacificmeister I feel like I’ve made some real traction:

1. a crash course in Fusion 360. this program rocks!
  2. an introduction to 3D printers. Never had one but they seem to make sense. Ordered a decent size machine with plenty of PLA so play around with
  3. spent a HEAP of hours on ebay & amazon ordering all the parts. The lists you guys have built are awesome.

Note that the McMasters seals may not match up on the part numbers anymore (@pacificmeister : do you mind confirming the seal you used still lines up with the product listed at www.mcmaster.com search for 5154T47 as the listing says “Spring-Loaded Rotary Shaft Seal with Wiper Lip, for 5/16” Shaft Diameter, 0.313" ID x 0.750" OD")

and there is no wiring in the lists (I’ll probably be going for some silicon wiring to handle the salt water)

So basically saying thanks! I’ll let you know how I go…

3 Likes

Just a heads up. McMaster doesn’t ship to Australia. I got my seals from allied bearings.

You have the right attitude! Any skill can be learned. Nobody is born an expert. Good luck with your build. Feel free to ask if you have any Fusion issues. I can help over Teamviewer.

Hello @Waterboy. Great to hear that you are jumping into the efoil building adventure. You will get up to speed with cad and printing in no time. I too learned Fusion with this project and I love it.