Reality check - complete beginner

I’ve recently discovered efoiling and I’m obsessed! I live in mid-Wales and have a huge reservoir which would be ideal for efoiling.

Obviously the hefty price tag of most efoils is way beyond my budget but I could afford to build one over time.

I am fairly capable with DIY but have very little knowledge of electrical wiring etc.

How realistic would a self build be for someone like me?

Are there any basic ‘foil proof’ plans available out there?

Any help and advice would be appreciated.

I’d say this:

• Buy ready made board
  • Buy decent foil that takes you past being a beginner
  • Buy all electrical components and put correct connectors on
  • Buy or make battery
  • Connect all together

The longest and most tedious part is making a board. If you can get a board that is already done and seal properly, then the rest is much easier.

2 Likes

Dont be put off by the electronics.

You could go for a proven Flipsky 100Kv 65161 motor, Flipsky 300a seal ESC and Maytech remote. The electrics on this gear is quite simple once you gain a basic understanding.

I would recommend building one only if you think you will enjoy the build. If you dont enjoy building stuff, an efoil build will break you for sure!

2 Likes

Try to find a fablab nearby and click here Search results for 'wales' - FOIL.zone to find a Welsh forum member you could meet (Midlands right ?):

1 Like

Thanks for that. Are ready made boards easy to get hold of?

When I started researching to build my efoil, I had absolutely no knowledge of electronics/electrical wiring. I agree with @michion! Once you do some research, you will realize that it is not as complicated as it seems.

All you need electronics wise is a battery with balance charge or BMS (a lot to read about that), a controller (VESC or ESC), a remote with a receiver (maytech is not great but best option right now) and a motor unit (motor, mast clamp, prop, duct).