Propeller with the duct integrated vs propeller + a duct?

Hello everyone!

h_lice_avec_anneau_de_garde|500x500
As nobody uses such a propeller with an “integrated duct” instead of having the prop + the duct, there must be some good reason but I’m curious about them. Could somebody explain me a bit?
Thanks!

3 Likes

I’m no hydrodynamic expert, but I noticed when I was running one of my motors under water with no prop that it generates a lot of turbulence at high speed.

My guess is that the integrated duct, being at the outer edge of the prop and therefore moving very quickly, would generate a huge amount of drag and decrease efficiency significantly.

1 Like

I think the advantage of a static duct is to protect legs and avoid injuries too.

I’m no Hydro expert either and as you, I was thinking that the rotating surfaces had to be kept as low as possible to decrease drag. Then, I thought about the outrunner motors (see @Mat video) being tested successfully where the motor rotating outer shell surface is very important.
So now, I think both (with and without ring) deserve to be tested + It would be interesting to compare both drawn powers at given speeds.
What is sure is that with this ring setup, you don’t have the drag of the 3 or 4 struts holding the duct.

1 Like

I also think this is an interesting concept, especially for outrunners, where it is a bit more inconvenient to mount the duct struts.

I already tested this idea

The consumption is a nightmare! I was really surprised on this.

It is a modified hiorth propeller. Without spinning duct the hiorth propeller needs 38A @ 20 km/h on my setup.

With the spinning duct it is 100A @ 20 km/h.

I think there is no chance having an efficient propeller with spinning duct if it is 3D printed.

7 Likes

Probably it needs to be aluminum or similar. Bit still a sad result.