Need Help to build an Efoil

I am currently a freshman in high school and want to build an efoil by the end of this summer. I need help finding the right parts like I cant find a good source of foam in the US and just don’t know what I should do about a mast and foil. I tried to design a mast in CAD to be made out of aluminum but just don’t know the right sizes and how to mount a motor to it or run the cables thru it. I am completely clueless, I tried looking on youtube for build guides but cant really find anything. Any info would help. Thanks!

Hi Trellis welcome! Have you built an electric skateboard before? I would highly recommend doing that first to gain some of the required skills to build an electric hydrofoil.

1 Like

I have not built one. I do have some experience with soldering. I do want to eventually build one but I have limited funds and would rather build an efoil. What are some of the required skills?

It depends on how many parts you choose to fabricate yourself versus buy off the shelf. Buying things ready to go is very expensive whereas fabrication requires skills. Drilling holes, 3D printing and painting epoxy are a few things I’ve encountered. It is not a project for the faint of heart to be candid. I would learn to hydrofoil behind a boat first before building anything to get a taste of what you are in for.

I’ve hydrofoiled before, and have 3d printed things. I have access to a machine shop would that help me much? I haven’t done epoxy or fiberglass but my dad has and I think he’s illing to help me.