Irish 80100 Direct Drive Build Plans!

Hi guys, after many hours reading through this great forum I just wanted to run my plans by everyone before I bite the bullet and order all the parts. I plan on ordering:

APS C80100 Outrunner 130kV 7000W
Flier 400A 16s Watercooled ESC
Two 6S LiPos
DIY 315 MHz remote (Based on Mats design)
Trial and error with some of the props posted on the forum, including Jakes found here: 80100 direct cooling - #123 by jakebarnhill1 - Builds - FOIL.zone
and the 7 1/4 x 5 propeller

I will also build my own board, mast and fins with marine grade wood and fiberglass.

I would like to integrate a screen on the board to display amps drawn, rpm, mAh remaining etc… I am an engineer by trade in my first year out of college so I will also integrate some of my own designs wrt/ watercooling the electronics compartments and share the results with everyone.

I am roughly 70kg and would like to reach 30 km/h comfortably on my board (potential for more later) without blowing any components, and I would be satisfied with 25-30 minute ride time minimum, anything over this would be a bonus! I think my ride style will be 70-100% throttle mostly, so my question is do you think my setup is appropriate for what I am looking for? If not, what components are letting me down?

My parts are based mostly on Mat and Jakes builds as I love the simplicity and speed. However, I would also like to extend huge gratitude towards everybody else on the forum, I have learned a lot of the past few weeks and look forward to contributing myself soon.

1 Like