If you had to start a build from scratch today

Okay, so i have been on this forum lurking and reading for the past few weeks.
Its taken most of that time to get my head around all the acronyms and stuff.

I have some experience in building large RC Helis and quad copters so ESC and motors and spinning blades are nothing new.

Ideally I would like a stable ride and not looking for any speed records. Im 90Kg when dry, so im looking at 130l board i think.

But guess I am looking for the holy grail in terms of simplicity and performance.

So, if you all had to start again, knowing what you have learnt, Which motor, ESC or VESC and wing Combo would you choose for your build and why.

Look forward to your responses

1 Like

Board: I have both a 6ft board with around 120L volume and a 5ft board with around 70L volume. The larger board is easier to go from lying to standing, but thats about it. For everything else the 5ft board is just WAY better!

Motor: I have a geared DIY unit, Flipsky 120KV and FR unit. The geared is by far the most powerful and has the best acceleration. The Flipsky is a great cheaper direct drive unit that will more than cater for 95% of the efoil user. The FR unit is the bells and whistles motor unit, but it comes at a price.

ESC: Depending on the motor unit you choose and your budget, then there are a few options in both the VESC and normal ESC side.