How much experience/know-how do you really need to build an electric hydrofoil?

Hello,

Apologies - if I am breaking the forum rules - seem to not see them anywhere.

I want to build a boat using hydrofoils(fully submerged - maybe somewhere around 10ft boat) - going to start with a board though.

Why? Because I have never built a boat in my life - never mind a hydrofoil, haha.

I have no electronics experience, even less experience in woodwork - BUT I AM WILLING. I am a tinkerer - no foil design know how either- nada.

I have a good grip on maths. I am a software developer by trade.

Is this possible without any AutoCad experience(My dad though has 35 years of architecture and probably 20+ years in AutoCad - I might use his skills.)?

This all looks amazing - but not sure if I am in way over my head here. Or anyone in my shoes for that matter!?

Cheers

David

Hello and welcome!

Its definitely possible, I think most of us have just jumped in and learnt along the way. Its an enjoyable and frustrating experience at the same time lol. Some of us are aslo lucky enough to have skillsets that help us along the way but I dont think it’s a requirement, almost everything you need to get you started is here on the forum

Cheers

Hi David,

just a remark: I’m also a boat builder and considering adding hydrofoils to my (not yet finished) 20’ boat later. That may be not feasible, because I will be motoring electric (partly solar) and slow.

Gruß, Günter

1 Like

A fair bit, especially on the safety side. Have you checked out SeaBubbles?

1 Like

Just get started. Don’t worry about the skills you don’t have. You will have some difficult problems to solve and you will need to find people who can help you solve certain problems (like having a friend who’s a machinist and another friend who’s an EE would definitely help)