FoilGun F63 CGN - easy mod for cheap $35 remote

Hey everyone! I am a builder form Cologne, Germany!

I just designed a remote case for the cheap $35 remote (https://de.banggood.com/custlink/mDvyr3C9tI).
The remote is quite cheap and you can make it really waterproof because there are no physical switches.

I wanted to have the index finger to control the gas because I am used to that from my old rc cars and rc boats. Furthermore I did liked the feeling of the thumb gas of the control. I think my hands are to big or I am not really use to it. The case is so big that a 18650 battery fits in the handle and the hole remote can still swim and will not sink like the old one does.

old

new case

Logo inspired by the old german gun company Walther, who is making the P99 for the german police.
I don’t really like guns, but I think it make it look a bit more funny :smile:

Soon I will make a little instruction and upload the files, so everyone can upgrade if there are wanting to!:slight_smile:

5 Likes

How do you make it 100% waterproof? The trigger and switch part, do you have a good solution for that?

You put the hole modul in epoxy. There is not need that the case is waterproof. The triger and switch part is working through a magnet.

I designed a case where you can cast the modul with resin.
The modul is already coated with resin but just to be sure! :slight_smile:

were you able to use this remote ok? I found the throttle response was so bad it made riding almost impossible.

I have no problems with it. It tested it with a servo and it was quite quick.

I have the same remote. I potted it with some epoxy and it still seems to be working.