Foil selection & Build efficiency, range

Hello guys,

I am a mechanical engineer, also doing my graduate on hydrofoils and cavitation.
I will be analyzing the flow characteristics of cavitation in turbulent multiphase flows if anyone is interested. The aim is to create a system that self-optimizes the hydrofoil according to needs and less cavitation, which would also go a long way with the propellers.

Right now my aim is quite huge, but we will figure at as we go.

Is there any guide or any calculation on build creating? As far as I can see most of the people are using the hydrofoils they pick only considering the lift and drag coefficients, is there a guide that people follow?

As much as I had browsed through the forum, made a dozen of searches, I wasn’t able to find a satisfying guide for beginners.

I am also a happy windsurfer who is almost getting above 25 knots winds most of the time, however I would like to expand my wind range, therefore I am interested in the details of the business.

** The question is: Is there any guide for beginners on this purpose? **

All answers are appreciated, sorry if this is a repeating question over & over. If yes, the topic can be locked immediately.

My apologies for the grammar if it is eating you up inside.

In addition, I am planning to make one beginners guide, an all included with the design and the optimization of the hydrofoil, if one doesn’t exist.

1 Like

Is a post regarding board sizing

This an efficiency calculator

I’m looking forward to seeing your guide. Let us know what else you are looking for.

1 Like

The board is quite easy in my opinion, the idea should be more based on where the foil is going to be placed at. I find it quite meaningless to place the foil at the end of the board, In my opinion, it must be placed at the center of weight for the ease of usage.

The more the weight is around the foil more of the efficiency of the lifting force.

The hydrofoil design tool: