Eboard - Efoil swappable

Hi there guys coming to you from New Zealand,
I recently finished my build on an electric longboard and have been dreaming of an Efoil of my own for awhile. So, being a student I have begun to conceptualize ways I can have both cheaply and, effectively. It looks as though, the 10s battery and, VESC I have currently installed on my Eboard would work well - and therefore, I plan to create a swap-able system wherein the batteries and VESC can be easily switched between the two. I will be going to uni next year, and will have access to a million dollar metal sls 3d printer among other things. - therefore, this thread will be updated as I go along with my build. I also wanted to ask if a 190kv Eboard motor at 2500watts peak - Electric Skateboard Motor 6355 190KV – DIY Electric Skateboard , would work on an Efoil just in terms of power output with the correct gearing ratio (I understand the cooling problems with an out runner)- sadly from the research i’ve been doing it looks like it wont be powerful enough, therefore, what kinda power output should I be looking for?
Also, would love to hear from anyone working towards a similar goal :slight_smile: .

Big thanks to pacificmeister for everything in regards to the Efoil community.

1 Like

Hi @Efoilyn, it depends on your board and foil. I am trying with less power using a low drag board and foil (test is planed to be in December), others report that more power is needed.

1 Like

Thank you very much for sharing your measurements. Those are very helpful, I like your approach.:smiley:
According to your measurements the mechanical power for 25km/h on the SUP board is only around 1,7kW. (Drag Force of 25kg@25km/h)
Why is it that most builders here on the forum think that in excess of 4kw is necessary?
Thanks in advance if you can help my find my error here.

I have been trying to motorize my old alpha 105L slalom board and would be very interested thanks Peter