E-Foil mechanical engineer project. Ideas?

Hi everyone,

I am currently building my efoil as a private project… But since I am in my studies as a mechanical engineer, I was thinking about proposing this project as a yearlong “focus project” in a group of 3-8 students. Now my concern is that an e-foil might be to “easy” for this project.

My goal of this project it to have a very good e-foil at the end of it (cost does not matter too much). This means from cruse control to perfect aerodynamic wings and very efficient propulsion setup, which all will be simulated.

I was also thinking about a beginner mode which would self level the efoil or some easy mechanism to change the wings of the foil to be able to use different driving style. The esc, in my opinion is at the moment one of the weakest part, that’s why an self made esc could also be an option.

Since I have not completed my own build yet, I don’t really know what could be improved, what would be unnecessary…
Do you have any visions of a “next level” efoil.

I think this could be the chance of trying new innovative things, since the manpower and cost (due to sponsoring) is not the limiting factor.

I would love to hear what visions/ideas you have, so that I could present this project to a professor and that it would be approved by the university.

1 Like

My 2 cents.
Seems like you are a perfect candidate to build the next level efoil around the new born InRunner 65150 motor with direct drive. That is a legitimate project as it is a first-off : nobody here has built an efoil around this motor.
The skills involved would be: mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, composites, CFD, …
3 to 8 well employed students can represent a nice workforce. I think that many people here would assist you especially if you are willing to publish your progress in this forum.
In the Wiki (needs some update) :grinning: you already have the first pages of your project report.

Candidate steps could be: