Battery costs and suppliers

I’m working on my first build and have run into a roadblock with batteries. I have a degree in applied physics and feel very confident that I could build a battery from individual cells, however as I look through cells that cost anywhere from $3-8/cell, and do the math of a 12s12p or 14s14p battery, plus a BMS that’s capable of handling the amperage required, I find myself running into a coupe of questions like:

• How much does a battery typically cost people?
  • Are people really spending close to $1,000 for a battery?
  • Are there suppliers that people are getting them from that are simpler/cheaper than building one yourself?
  • Do you need a BMS for discharging the battery, or only for charging it?

Anyone able to answer some/all of those questions from their own experience?

I built a 14s14p battery pack which ended up costing me 900$ so yes most people are spending close to 1k on battery packs. To my knowledge, there are no reliable supplier of ready-to-go battery packs. As for the BMS, some people are breaking their big packs into two (ex: 2*7s14p) so they can use balance chargers instead of BMSs. However, I bought a smart BMS for my pack which is able to handle charging and discharging. I think this is the safest way to go about it as you can monitor the battery pack at all times with the app and it also protects it from discharging too far and permanently damaging the cells.

You don’t necessarily need a BMS for discharge but it’s usefull for controlling max Amps and also the overdischarge protection feature is handy.
It does typically cost 600-800 without a BMS
800-1000 with a BMS

Yes they spend close to a 1000usd for a battery except if they buy a pack from aliexpress.(I’d rather build one myself, i don’t really trust chinese batteries)

If you need a good BMS check out voltaplex website (www.voltaplex.com)the bigger ones you can even customize…