65161 motor direct drive vs SSS 56114 motor with gears

As I’ve been looking through this forum and trying to decide on a motor, I’ve found that the two main motors that have come up were the 65161 motor used as a direct drive or the SSS 56114 motor with a 5:1 gearbox. I’m new to this, and trying to decide which one to get. Any opinions?

For reference:

• I’m about 90kg (but would like for it to be strong enough for heavier riders too)
  • I’d eventually like to be able to reach ~50 km/h
1 Like

If you want to hit those speeds, the first thing you need is a decent foil! Once you got that then motors the next thing.
No one’s hit 50kph on the geared or 65161 that I know of. I’ve hit 38kph on 12s with the 65161 but haven’t had a chance to test it on 14s yet. Hopefully I will in a few weeks time.
If you really wanted to try hit 50kph you could maybe do something no one else has and try the 56124 500kv motor with a neugart 3:1 gearbox. That should give you a faster unit than anyone else.

I am 90kg as well and have also had guys over 100kg ride my board with the 65161 and it went fine.

1 Like

My opinion is that it is hard to have the best of both worlds.

You can either build a board that is maneuverable, foils early, can play in surf. Or you can build a go fast race board that is unstable, will not start to foil until very high speeds, and has poor handling.

Like @Jezza said. The foil is the biggest factor with regards to the speed. You must match the foil to the speed range you are looking for.

If you start looking at foils for +25 mph (40kph) you will begin to see the drawbacks.

The foil I use (slingshot infinity 76) begins to foil at 7mph (11kph) and I have done 23mph (37kph) at 70% throttle. I am still tuning and testing, and learning to ride my board. This is plenty fast for me. I have not tried to go any faster yet. I will let you know when I test it at 100% throttle.