CAD Package and 3D Printers

Gents,

This is a proper noob question, and not actually related to efoils as such (feel free to delete), but can you guys suggest a 3D printer and CAD software to use? I’ve no experience of 3D printing and I’m going round in circles looking at all the advice online. With regards to CAD, i’ve scratched the surface with AutoCAD LT and use it to create VERY basic P&ID’s at work. I notice that Fusion appears to be quite popular software on here. I use a Macbook at home (without windows installed) but also have a powerful work Laptop (Windows) Any advice/guidance welcome! Thanks in advance. Shaun.

1 Like

Depending on what I want to do, I use various software. I often start my designs in 2D in Draftsight (basically a free autocad) and then import them into Freecad and pad the 2D sketches. I find this way is pretty quick.
I also have Meshmixer, Fusion but dont really design in them.

2 Likes

I’m using Fusion on a mac with no problem… they have a lot of nice tutorial to help you get started, and, as lot of people are using it, Google is able to help when you have issues… it also makes it easier to grab files from other people here on the forum.
Edit: and it’s free! :slight_smile:

For the printer, i like a lot my craftbot plus.
Prusa printers also have good reviews.
One thing to consider: Heated bed it kind of mandatory or you’ll be very restricted on the materials you can print (especially for parts you want stronger and to be used outside…)

2 Likes

I recently learned to use onshape.com and I am very impressed so far.
It’s free if you share your design (which most people here do anyway, and then the designs can easily be used by everyone), and runs straight on a browser (no software to install + works on windows+mac+linux).
I used blender before, (also free), but its not great for making tweaks and changes later as it is more of an animation program than a solid 3D modeler.